top of page
Writer's pictureJessica Allen

6 Items to Bring to Your Photography Session (to have a relaxing time!)


6 Items to Bring to Your Photography Session

(to have a relaxing time!)


Knowing what to bring to your photography session can be a bit overwhelming, especially if it’s your first one! I’ve created a list of 6 different things I recommend bringing to your session to add a personal touch and make it a more relaxing experience overall!



PROPS

This is a great way to add a personal touch to a session! You want your session to reflect who you are and props are a great way to do that. If you’re celebrating something special like an announcement or big life change you can bring something related to that change like an ultrasound, piece of jewelry or clothing, or something sentimental. If you’re doing the session just for fun, bring something that reflects you and your personality. For me personally, this has consisted of a coffee cup, book, and camera!



MULTIPLE OUTFITS

If your session is an hour long (or longer!) I highly recommend bringing 2-3 outfits with you. This will allow you to get a wider variety of shots than a single outfit allowing you to get more out of your session. If it’s only you or one other person I would recommend bringing 3 outfits, however, if there are 3 or more people as part of the session I would recommend bringing 2 outfits for the sake of time. You want the outfits to add to the session, not take away from it because of how long everyone ends up spending changing.


PERSONAL APPEARANCE ITEMS

You don’t want to show up to your session and realize you want to touch up your makeup or need to fix your hair. I recommend bringing a small “emergency kit” of sorts containing any items you might want or need to make sure you look your best before your session! If you book a session with me, I will have a small kit with me containing various hair tools and a couple of other things you can use to touch up before we get started if needed! See everything I include in my Client Emergency Kit HERE!


WATER & SNACKS

Part of making sure you have the best experience possible during your session is making sure you’re hydrated and fed beforehand, especially with kids! Bringing some water and snacks with you to munch on while you drive to the session, or for the kids if they get hungry during, is a great way to help with this! This can also be used as bribery to get kids to cooperate during the session if they decide they no longer want to participate!


WALKABLE SHOES

Depending on your location and chosen footwear for the session these may not be needed. However, if there’s a fair amount of walking to get to your location I would highly recommend bringing shoes that are comfortable to walk in if you’re not already wearing them. As someone who wears heels, there’s nothing worse than having to walk further than necessary in them! (Unless they’re comfortable, of course.)


CHANGE OF CLOTHES

Again this may not be necessary depending on what you’re wearing to the session, but if you’re getting dressed up for the session I recommend bringing a change of clothes for after! I personally love changing into something comfortable after getting dressed up, the comfortable clothes always seem more comfortable in those times. I’ll have a changing tent for you to use both during and after your session if you choose to bring a change of clothes!



I hope this was helpful for you and your next photography session is more relaxing than the last! If you’d like for me to capture any of your memories, I’d love for you to contact me HERE!


12 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page