top of page
Writer's pictureJessica Allen

BEST Small Business Gift Guide 2021: Find the Perfect Gift for Anyone on Your List

A few weeks ago when I started brainstorming ideas for Christmas presents and ordering them I thought I was a little crazy to start this early, but with all the shipping and supply chain issues we’ve experienced this year, I’m starting to think I’m not so crazy! Between my love for supporting small businesses and the inevitable issues the chain retailers will have this holiday season, I wanted to create a gift guide dedicated to my favorite small businesses!

Full of seasonal crafts and home decor, Heartfelt Wall Hangings has gifts for anyone that loves to decorate their home. You can choose to purchase any of their products as a kit (containing the wood and vinyl) or as a completed project. I love how many interchangeable seasonal projects they have! They have decor for any season, holiday, or occasion. They’re slowly taking over my home!


In addition to selling their own products, they work with several local vendors to sell jewelry, wreaths, notebooks, and more! They also offer monthly craft classes that include one of the monthly projects as well as a store credit, it’s truly a steal.


You can browse all of their projects HERE and purchase gift certificates HERE!


Baerson Blue Designs

Just like Heartfelt Wall Hangings is taking over my home, Baerson Blue and Bella Ruby (who I’ll talk about next) are slowly taking over my jewelry box!


Baerson Blue got their start making handcrafted wood earrings themed around the different holidays and seasons, and recently expanded to making home decor as well. I love being able to match my earrings to the occasion without wearing something absolutely huge. It’s a subtle way to accessorize for any holiday!


Bearson Blue products can be purchased at Heartfelt Wall Hangings or by reaching out to them on Instagram!


Bella Ruby Jewelry

If you’re looking for something more polished than what Baerson Blue offers, Bella Ruby Jewelry probably has what you’re after! They specialize in handmaking natural gemstone rings but also makes earring and necklaces as well. I’ve been following Bella Ruby on Instagram for quite a few years now and have taken advantage of the sales they offer their followers quite a few times! I fell in love with wearing rings after buying my first ring with them and they have since become a staple in my wardrobe!


You can purchase directly from their website, Etsy shop, or follow them on Instagram for exclusive deals!



Do you have a special place in your heart for businesses you’ve been following since the beginning? I definitely do. Amber started this project after deciding that she wanted to illustrate all of the National Parks in the US, but with a twist. She “stumbled on a few one-star reviews and the idea hit [her] like lightning!”


Since starting this project with illustrating Arches National Park in 2019 she has drawn all 62 US National Parks, several National Parks in other countries, and other units managed by the NPS! She also illustrates greeting cards and stickers that are more general in nature (pun intended) for the nature lover in your life!


Recently Amber released a book compiling all of her National Park illustrations with information about each or the parks. Check out the book HERE and order your 2022 Subpar Parks Calendar HERE! You can view the rest of her shop HERE!


Created by Amber and her friend Mallory, the Bright Beta Co is home to the Adventure Log and No Limits Planner! I haven’t personally used the Adventure Log specifically, but there is a version of this in the back of the No Limits Planner that I absolutely love.

The No Limits Planner is a fairly new planner that is the perfect mix of both everyday life and adventure planning! The front of the planner has space for planning out your goals for the year with journaling prompts, the bulk of the planner is full of monthly and weekly planning pages, and the last few pages are a dedicated adventure log to keep track of all your adventures throughout the year!


You can preorder your 2022 No Limits Planner HERE and Adventure Log HERE!



This year I have found a love for thrifting! Some of my favorite things about thrifting are the amazing deals you can find (hello American Eagle jeans for $10!) how much better it is for the environment, and how much easier it’s made curating my wardrobe to my style! Here are a couple of my favorite thrift stores in the Salt Lake Valley!


Revive Thrift is a clothing boutique selling clothes, shoes, and accessories. They recently renovated their store creating so much more room for activities! Their inventory is largely women’s clothes with a small selection of kid’s and men’s clothes available as well. Typically, I’m able to find clothes that are currently in style and fit well with my wardrobe here!


Check out their online store or purchase a gift card HERE!


The Other Side Thrift has a little bit of everything with a huge variety of items! They sell everything from clothes, to furniture, to home decor and so much more! I’ve noticed the prices on clothing are a bit lower than what you find at Revive with a similar inventory and a few more vintage pieces to choose from.


They have 2 locations in the Salt Lake Valley with a massive inventory at both! They aren’t offering gift cards at this time, but this is a perfect place to find a one-of-a-kind gift!


Started by a friend from high school, Lissa & Co handmakes clay earrings! She offers several different designs through her Etsy shop and Instagram. There are options available for almost any occasion whether it’s seasonal or you’re looking for something more every day! I placed my first order recently through one of her Instagram story sales and am in love with everything I received! I got some dainty limes that will be perfect for summer, pumpkins perfect for fall, and a couple pairs of earrings fit for every day!


Check out her Etsy shop HERE and Instagram page HERE!



Found this gem of a business at a Bella Ruby pop up shop over the summer! Owned by the most amazing human (Mal), she creates flower arrangements, hat flourishes, custom greeting and postcards, and hand drawn family portraits! She’ll even make custom Christmas cards! I cannot wait to work with her more as my business grows, but in the meantime I’ve adored ordering myself flower arrangements to be delivered to my door and dreaming of future presents for loved ones. Order your special someone a flower arrangement for the holidays or get a hand-drawn family portrait to display!


Check out all of her amazing products HERE!


Without a doubt, Borcik Jewelry found its way into my life for a reason. I don’t quite remember how I first found them on Instagram, but they’ve brought joy into my life since I started following their account a couple of weeks ago.


They create jewelry (handmade, of course) to support mental health; a portion of each sale is donated to a charity (TWLOHA) to help erase the stigma around depression and prevent suicides. I recently ordered their Minimal Semicolon Earring and Semicolon Heart Necklace and love how dainty both pieces are. They’re so perfect to wear every day!


They also have collections themed around Zodiac signs, birthstones, pressed flowers, and butterflies. All of their jewelry is absolutely gorgeous and ideal for everyday wear with how dainty the pieces are.


Check out their website HERE!



I’m not going to go into too much detail on Tripped Travel Gear as I’m going to dedicate a whole post to reviewing their gear (and mentioned them HERE,) but they couldn’t go unmentioned in this post! All of their products are perfect for the travel lover in your life no matter how they travel! Currently, they have compression and deluxe packing cubes, a toiletry bag set that includes a TSA approved clear bag, a foldable day bag, and a tech bag. I own everything except the deluxe packing cubes and use them every time we travel!


Check out their newly updated website HERE and Amazon store HERE!


Knowing that I’m a sucker for a good candle, my mom gifted me one from Candles by Victoria for Christmas a couple of years ago. They have “normal” candles so to speak, but their creme de la creme are their Bake Shoppe candles. (Which is what she got me!) I’m not sure how they do it, but they somehow manage to decorate the top of the candle with wax to look like whatever food the candle smells like! My mom ordered me a peach cobbler candle which look and smelled AMAZING. It honestly looked so good you could eat it!


If you have someone in your life who’s just as candle obsessed as I am I highly suggest checking them out HERE!


Honorable Mentions - Places I haven’t shopped but want to

While trying to decide which small businesses I wanted to include in this years gift guide, I narrowed things down to places I actually shop at. I only want to recommend places that I’ve personally had a great experience with! With that being said, I can’t help but include a couple of honorable mentions after hearing great things about these businesses and interacting with them on social media!


Salt & Honey Market is a makers market that provides spaces for local business to sell their products. They have a large variety of products from jewelry to home decor to little trinkets and knick knacks providing the perfect opportunity to find a gift for anyone!


They have 2 locations in the Salt Lake Valley and you can check out their website HERE!



Located in Texas, Vintage Soul has some of the CUTEST clothes, accessories, and home decor! Every Tuesday the owner Julie does a virtual try on showing off their new arrivals. I’ve loved being able to see what they offer each week and get to know Julie a bit better this way!


Check out what they currently have on their website HERE!


I hope this was helpful in your search for gifts whether they be for an upcoming holiday or birthday or if you’re looking for a little something for yourself!



5 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page