top of page
Writer's pictureJessica Allen

December Roundup: celebrating winter holidays besides Christmas, cold weather comfort food, and more

DECEMBER ROUNDUP:


Happy holidays friend! I cannot believe 2021 is almost over! Where did the year go? In this month’s roundup I found a great resource to learn about holidays celebrated around the world at this time of year, share some amazing sounding comfort food recipes, and share the most adorable Christmas advent calendar!


Jump to a specific section of this post using the hyperlinks below!




Upcoming Holidays

There are so many holiday’s celebrated during December around the world besides Christmas, and I’m dedicating some time this year to learning about those other holidays! I’m so grateful that Preethi from Local Passport Family has created a resource to help with this! She is celebrating 12 winter holidays around the world with her family this year and is sharing all of the information over on her blog! To get the information you’ll need to sign up to receive the daily emails that will contain information about the holiday, suggestions for books to read, and a recipe to try!


You can read more about the 12 winter holidays around the world she’s celebrating and sign up to receive the emails HERE!


Local Events

The Chriskindlmarket at This is the Place Heritage Park unfortunately ends this weekend, but I can’t wait to go check it out tomorrow! You can find out more information about the market HERE!


With Christmas quickly approaching there are so many fun events happening around the valley! I looked at a few different lists of things to do and was most impressed by this one from Utah’s Adventure Family! She’s broken down the activities by county, lists any costs associated, and provides the operating hours for all of the activities! Check out the entire list HERE!


One of my favorite traditions in December is driving around to see all of the light displays! There are so many free and paid options throughout the valley I can’t wait to check out! For a list of free options CLICK HERE and for the paid options CLICK HERE!



Recipes

This month I decided to focus on yummy comfort foods, what’s more perfect for the cold weather than that? I couldn’t think of anything off the top of my head I wanted to share, so I turned to the trusty Google and found a few recipes that sounds absolutely amazing!






Crafts & Activities

If you liked the Halloween advent reading calendar than you’ll love the Christmas version from Everyday Reading! The picture is absolutely adorable and she provides so many great picture books recommendations! You can see the full advent calendar and print your free copy HERE!


If you’re more interested in Christmas books for adults, Janssen has a list of 11 great options! I’ve never really read specific books based off the current season/holiday, but after looking over this list I think I might have to grab a couple of these from my library this year! See the full list HERE!





I hope you enjoyed this month’s roundup! If you want to make sure you don't miss my future roundups you can sign up for my VIP list HERE! (Plus, you'll get exclusive access to model calls, priority access to sessions, and discounts just for my VIPs!)


0 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page