top of page
Writer's pictureJessica Allen

July 2022 Edition: Things to do in Salt Lake City, Utah to Get the Most out of the Summer!

July 2022 Edition: Things to do in Salt Lake City, Utah to Get the Most out of the Summer!


Here’s a little peek into some fun things to do in Salt Lake in July 2022!


Between Independence Day and Pioneer Day here in Utah, there is a myriad of celebrations happening this month! There are so many fun things happening this month, that I couldn’t narrow it down! With how many local events I am listing I opted to keep the other sections shorter this month. I’d love it if you tag me on Instagram @jhphotography_ut if you end up doing anything from this list!



GLOBAL CHILDREN’S BOOK CLUB:

If you’re not familiar with the Global Children’s Book Club (GCBC), it’s held by Preethi from the Local Passport Family. The Global Children’s Book Club “is an effort to cultivate understanding, respect, and love for the world and its people. I deeply hope it plants seeds of diverse global education in your families!” (Preethi, Local Passport Family) This year’s GCBC focuses on different holidays celebrated around the world and how to observe them in a respectful way! Read more about the GCBC HERE!


This month’s GCBC takes us to Kenya to learn more about Eid Al-Adha; the biggest holiday celebrated within Islam. Preethi and her family are currently driving up to Alaska and will be posting all of the details for this month’s GCBC soon! I will update this post once her post is live!



This free event takes place July 1st-4th (closed Sunday) from 6am-8am at Fox Field in Provo. The balloons start inflating at 6am and there will be a competition for the pilots to compete in as well! Read more information about Balloon Fest HERE!


Open Streets is back for the summer! Each Friday, Saturday, and Sunday from noon to 1am Main Street will be closed to vehicle traffic from 400 S to South Temple “and transformed into a pedestrian promenade” according to their site. With over 250 local businesses participating this is a great way to shop local this summer! Read more about Open Streets HERE!


MOVIES IN THE PARK

Movies in the park have gotten increasingly popular over the years and it seems like almost every city is hosting one this summer! University Place in Orem as well as a few other malls in the valley are hosting movie nights as well! Head to Google and search ‘your city + movie night’ to find one near you!


Every clear Wednesday night the University of Utah Observatory offers a free public star party! During the star party, you’ll be able to observe stars, planets, galaxies, and more through their telescopes as well as ask any questions you may have about what you’re seeing! Get more information about the UofU Star Parties HERE!


With Albion Basin closed this year I was surprised to see the festival still happening, but they’re carrying on at the 4 big resorts up the Cottonwood Canyons! Taking place over 4 days (July 9-10 & 16-17) each day at a different resort, you’ll get the chance to go on a guided walk to learn more about the wildflowers in the area. Read more about the guided walks and register HERE!


A new event to Salt Lake this year, the International Market features foods, goods, and services provided by the many cultures here in Utah! While they’re just getting their start this year, their long-term goal is to make this a destination International Market! Read more about it HERE!


Arguably the biggest rodeo in Utah, this year's Days of 47 Rodeo festivities begin on the 20th and carry on through the 25th (closed Sunday.) In addition to the rodeo, the Days of 47 Parade and several other events will be happening to celebrate Pioneer Day here in Utah. Read more about this year's festivities and buy tickets to the rodeo HERE!


I don’t know much about old cars, but I highly enjoy looking at them! Utah has several car shows that happen throughout the valley during the summer including the Classic Car Show at Valley Fair Mall! I highly recommend finding a car show near you to check out. If you want more information about the Classic Car Show at Valley Fair CLICK HERE!


The Native American Powwow is open to all and will be held on July 23rd at Liberty Park. Read more about the Powwow and view the schedule HERE!



This month is going to be full of crossing things off our Summer to Remember list, spending time with family, and enjoying the summer while it lasts! This summer is especially busy so I’ll be taking every chance I get to get out and enjoy the amazing weather! I’ll be posting all of our summer to remember adventures on my Instagram Stories @jhphotography_ut if you want to follow along! (I have a highlight of the things we’ve already done!)



APP: Goodreads

Growing up I was a HUGE reader but unfortunately quit reading as much my junior year of high school which has carried into my adult life. This year I committed to getting back into reading, and while I’ve struggled thus far, downloading the Goodreads app weirdly seemed to help me want to read more last month! I’m easily able to update which books I’m reading, how far I am in them, make a list of what I want to read and so much more! My profile is listed under my first and last name (Jessica Allen) if you want to follow along!


SHOW: How to Get Away with Murder

I didn’t listen to any new podcasts this month, but I did binge How to Get Away with Murder in roughly 2 weeks… I started HTGAWM when it first premiered but got impatient waiting for new seasons on Netflix and it took me a while to finish it lol. I loved how this show was edited together and the suspense throughout! I was nervous it would end in a dumb way like most shows seem to these days, but HOLY COW. I was engrossed right through the last episode wondering how things would end, and when I finally got there I bawled at how well done it was. Peter Nowalk, Shonda Rhimes, and the other producers on the show chose to end the show when the story was done being told rather than carrying the show on just because. I can’t recommend it highly enough!


I hope you enjoyed this month’s roundup! If you want to make sure you don't miss my future roundups you can sign up for my VIP list HERE! (Plus, you'll get exclusive access to model calls, priority access to sessions, and discounts just for my VIPs!)






3 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page