top of page
Writer's pictureJessica Allen

June 2022 Edition: Things to do in Salt Lake City, Utah to kick off summer!


I tried sticking to my normal posting schedule after the recent tragedies but it just didn't feel right and I was honestly struggling to create any content out of fear of saying the "wrong thing". Posting my normal content felt uncomfortable, but I'm not someone that has the answers on what to do and I'm not going to pretend to be (and that's also not the reason you follow me if we're being completely honest..) Last week I ultimately made the decision to postpone my content until this week to gather my thoughts and figure out how I want to handle my business when a tragedy does happen. My "crisis plan" is still in the works, if you have any suggestions of things to add or things you'd like to see me so feel free to send me a message. Now, onto the content you’re here for.


Here’s a little peek into some fun things to do in Salt Lake in June 2022!


Memorial Day signals the start of summer for most and mother nature definitely got that memo here in Utah this year! Summer kicked off with quite the start between all of the festivals returning and the warm weather! This month I’ve compiled all of the outdoor festivities, found a myriad of suggestions for planning summer activities, and share some of our summer plans with you! Looking for something specific? Use the hyperlinks below to jump to that portion of the blog.





Activities


Looking for a fun way to display your summer bucket list? Look no further than the Summer to Remember List created by Marc and Trish, the masterminds behind Keep Your Daydream! I’ve been following Marc and Trish since practically the beginning when they set out in their camper to travel around the states with their 3 kids! Each year they’ve created a Summer to Remember List, which is just a fancy way to say summer bucket list, with things both big and small to do with their kids. I’ve used this for the past 3 years since 2018 and can’t wait to tick off some of the things on our list this year! Check out more about the Summer to Remember List and print off your own HERE!


Every summer Janssen from Everyday Reading releases a summer booklist for both kids and adults! Her adult summer book list this year is stunning and has a bunch of fun books on it! If you’re looking for a good summer read check out her adult list HERE and her list for kids HERE!


Want a fun way to track your reading this summer? Janssen’s back at it again with a camping themed summer reading bucket list! This theme is adorable and I love the categories she’s listed out, I may just have to print one for myself! Check it your for yourself HERE!


If you’re looking to diversify the books you or your kids are reading this summer Preethi from Local Passport Family created a Diverse Books Summer Book Club. She included 50 different prompts to help people seek a different perspective with the books their reading this summer. You can read more about the book club and see a list of her recommend picture books HERE!


Planning activities for everyone for the summer can be a bit overwhelming. My two favorite family bloggers (Preethi and Janssen) have both created tips for planning out the summer to help prevent burnout all around!


Check out Janssen’s recommendations HERE!


Preethi and her kids create a Summer Fun Club each summer and it’s the most adorable idea in my opinion! Read more about how they plan this out HERE!


GLOBAL CHILDREN’S BOOK CLUB:

If you’re not familiar with the Global Children’s Book Club (GCBC), it’s held by Preethi from the Local Passport Family. The Global Children’s Book Club “is an effort to cultivate understanding, respect, and love for the world and its people. I deeply hope it plants seeds of diverse global education in your families!” (Preethi, Local Passport Family) This year’s GCBC focuses on different holidays celebrated around the world and how to celebrate them in a respectful way! Read more about the GCBC HERE!


This month’s GCBC destination is New Zealand! Find all of the details HERE!



Local Events

The start of summer here in Utah means our mountains are open, all of the fairs and festivals, and of course the heat! Check out some great ways to kick off summer below!

  • Go on a scenic drive. Memorial signals the start of summer for a lot of people and with that the mountainous scenic drives in Northern Utah finally open from the winter! Guardsman Pass, the Alpine Loop, and Mirror Lake Highway all opened up over Memorial Day weekend making for the perfect day trip!

  • During the summer you can find a festival or local fair almost every weekend! Utah Fun Activities put together a great list compiling all of the events happening this summer. Check it out HERE!

  • The SLC Farmer’s market kicked off on June 4th at Pioneer Park! Every Saturday from 8am-2pm vendors gather in the park selling all kinds of food and chachkis appealing to most any interest! Read more about the SLC Farmers Market on their site HERE.

  • Lastly, the Hill Air Force Base air show is back after a 2-year hiatus on June 25th and 26th! This years show will feature the Air Force Thunderbirds and Hill’s F-35 demonstration team. More information can be found on the event website HERE.

  • Looking for more things to do this summer? Check out my list of 100+ things to do in the Salt Lake Valley HERE!


Date Night


Our calendar for the summer is slowly starting to fill up and summer’s just getting started! Rather than focusing on a weekly “date night” this summer I’m going to focus on spending quality time with my partner as we tick things off our Summer to Remember List! This year’s list includes bigger things like going to the Pride Festival with my sister and her family, visiting a National Park Service site, and going on a full moon lift ride. I also made sure to include plenty of smaller things to do as well like go on a picnic, go swimming, try a new drink and restaurant, and more! I’ll be posting all about our Summer to Remember adventures over on my Instagram Stories @jhphotography_ut if you want to follow along!



Things I’m Loving

APP: FOREST

I know I mentioned it last month, but I can’t help but mention Forest again! I’ve been pretty hit and miss about using it so far this year, but over these past couple of weeks I’ve been much better about starting the app when I need to stay off my phone and I’ve definitely noticed an increase in what I’m getting done! Forest is available in both the Apple App Store and Google Play Store. If you use my code 57EA8VVSG when you download the app we both get 500 bonus coins!


This one’s for my fellow photographers! Savannah launched her podcast Broke to Booked out last month and boy did this come at the right time for me! Each week the episode she drops seems to be speaking directly to me and a struggle I’m currently facing in my business helping me gain more confidence and propel my business forward! Listen to it HERE!


I know, I know… another repeat from last month. They have been on the harder side to find so I hesitated to mention them… but after trying the Dreamfloat flavor in particular I couldn’t resist mentioning this specific one! From what I can tell this is new for the summer, and I hope it’s here to stay! It tastes exactly like an orange dream bar which is one of my favorite frozen treats!


DESKTOP WHITEBOARD WITH STORAGE

I had a little bit left over on an Amazon gift card and was scrolling through the app one night when this came up in my recommended products. I had been looking for a solution to write down random tasks/thoughts I have throughout the day so this piqued my interest. After buying it and using it for a few months I’m so glad I bought this! I love how it fits above my keyboard and monitor for easy access, has a storage compartment for the marker and eraser it comes with + more, and it well built! Check it out HERE!


I hope you enjoyed this month’s roundup! If you want to make sure you don't miss my future roundups you can sign up for my VIP list HERE! (Plus, you'll get exclusive access to model calls, priority access to sessions, and discounts just for my VIPs!)




0 views0 comments

Comentarios


bottom of page