top of page
Writer's pictureJessica Allen

May 2022 Edition: Things to do in Salt Lake City, Utah to Enjoy the Warm Weather!

Here’s a little peek into some fun things to do in Salt Lake in May 2022!


Is this year absolutely flying by for anyone else? I swear I blinked and May is almost over! Despite the fact that we’re 18 days into the month, I still wanted to share my monthly roundup with you! Don’t worry I’ve already started on June’s post to make sure that it gets up in time 😅



Local Events & Activities

Even though we’re nearing the end of the month, I have a surprising number of things to talk about!


The Living Traditions Festival is back this year! Held by the Salt Lake City Arts Council, the Living Traditions Festival showcases both “historical and contemporary multicultural traditions through the presentation of dance, music, craft, and culinary arts.” (Utah Cultural Alliance) I’ve wanted to check out this festival for a few years now so I’m incredibly excited to see that it’s back this year! Find out more about the Living Traditions Festival and this year's schedule HERE.


The first Full Moon Lift Ride and Sundance happened this month! While the full moon has already passed, tickets are on sale for the rest of the season! You can view the available dates and purchase your tickets HERE.


I hadn’t heard of City Brew Tours until Visit Salt Lake introduced me to them through one of their emails. They offer both public and private tours depending on what you’re looking for with 5 different breweries to currently choose from. While a little pricey starting at $99 per person, your ticket includes stops at 4 different breweries, up to 16 beer styles, a paired meal, and of course some City Brew Tours swag. Check out the breweries currently participating and more info HERE!


NEW FAMILY MEMBER AT THE HOGLE ZOO

The Hogle Zoo recently welcomed a new baby zebra to its family! Bryce was born on April 14th to her mom Ziva joining the rest of the zoo's Hartmann Zebra herd! Now that the weather is starting to warm up, mama and baby should be spending more time outside with the rest of the herd making it the perfect time to visit the zoo!


Since it’s been 3 years since PRIDE has been celebrated in Utah, the organizers are going bigger than ever this year. Spread across 8 days, there are 14 events happening with several of them being free to attend. With everything from a Drag Queen Brunch, to a 5k, to of course the parade and festival itself, there’s something for everyone to choose from! View the event schedule and purchase your festival ticket HERE!


If you’re not familiar with the Global Children’s Book Club (GCBC), it’s held by Preethi from the Local Passport Family. The Global Children’s Book Club “is an effort to cultivate understanding, respect, and love for the world and its people. I deeply hope it plants seeds of diverse global education in your families!” (Preethi, Local Passport Family) This year’s GCBC focuses on different holidays celebrated around the world and how to celebrate them in a respectful way! Read more about the GCBC HERE!


This month’s stop is Thailand! This month’s chapter book is All Thirteen: The Incredible Cave Rescue of the Thai Boys' Soccer Team in honor of the upcoming anniversary. She also has a recipe linked and the picture version of this book for younger kids! You can read all about this months GCBC HERE!



Things I’m Loving

I’ve seen several different people online talk about Alani Nu and being the caffein fiend I am it of course sparked my curiosity. I accidentally grabbed one while picking out some Celsius flavors to try since they were on sale and didn’t realize until I had gotten out to the car… It worked out for the best since I ended up preferring Alani Nu (not a fan of the green tea taste some of the Celsius flavors have.) I’ve tried both the Blue Slush and Cosmic Stardust flavors so far and holy cow… IT’S SO GOOD! I’m now on the lookout for their other flavors to give them a try! The Blush Slush flavor tastes exactly like a blue raspberry slushie and I’m not sure how to describe the Cosmic Stardust but it’s now my new favorite energy drink.


I mentioned this jewelry previously as part of my Small Business Gift Guide last year, but with their recent rebrand, I had to highlight them again! Formerly known as Borcik Jewelry, they have collections themed around Zodiac signs, birthstones, pressed flowers, butterflies, and their most recent collection, Van Gogh’s Starry Night painting. All of their jewelry is absolutely gorgeous and ideal for everyday wear with how dainty the pieces are. I love their mission of supporting mental health, healing your trauma, and exploring your spirituality. Check out all of their pieces HERE!


APP: FOREST

I use Forest to help keep me focused on the task at hand and off my phone! Basically, you set a timer in the app and while the timer is going you grow a virtual plant. When you start the timer, you have 10 seconds to disable it before it “locks” you out of your phone and if you cancel it after that time frame your plant will whither in your garden. With the free version you do get completely locked out, however, with the pro version ($2.99 I think) you get an 'app allowed' list so if you have apps you use for work you can still access them. When you use the app you accrue in-game currency that you can use to buy more plants or clear withered plants from your map. You're also able to categorize the timers into work, personal, etc to help keep track of what you're doing. If you use my code 57EA8VVSG when you download the app we both get 500 bonus coins!


Recently one of my favorite content creators started a podcast with her sister called The Sisterhood of the Uncomfortable Pants and it’s safe to say I’m obsessed. They’ve only released a few episodes thus far, however, throughout the podcast they plan on talking about growing as a human, processing trauma, their lives growing up, and life in general. This podcast has made me laugh and cry all within a few episodes and I highly suggest checking it out. Listen to it on your preferred podcast app HERE!



I hope you enjoyed this month’s roundup! If you want to make sure you don't miss my future roundups you can sign up for my VIP list HERE! (Plus, you'll get exclusive access to model calls, priority access to sessions, and discounts just for my VIPs!)


2 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page