top of page
Writer's pictureJessica Allen

My Goals for 2022

My Goals for 2022


I’m one of those people that absolutely loves the new year and setting goals for the year ahead. I haven’t always been the most intentional with my goals, but this year I’m determined to change that! I’m using a different method of tracking my goals previously and I’m hopeful this will help make a difference in actually accomplishing all of my goals this year!


This year I’ve set a total of 8 goals: 3 business related, 4 personal, and one that kind of fits both categories!


MAKE $10k IN REVENUE

Talking about my financial goals feels a little taboo, but this is a huge one for me! It’s getting to the point where I need to upgrade a majority of my gear and hitting this goal will allow me to do so! This also accounts for all of my business operating expenses and taxes I will need to pay at the end of the year.


BOOK 7 MATERNITY & NEWBORN SESSIONS

One thing I learned in 2021 is that I absolutely adore sessions I never thought I would, like newborns! I had my first maternity and lifestyle newborn session last year and both of those sessions brought me so much joy. Photographing people in love gives me life, and these sessions can be the epitome of love.

Going into 2022 I plan on focusing more on families, maternity sessions, and later on in the year lifestyle newborns as well! I have a bit of education to do before I start offering newborns as part of my repertoire, however, I am now booking family and maternity sessions for all of 2022!


SECOND SHOOT FOR 10 WEDDINGS

I never thought I’d enjoy photographing weddings due to how stressful capturing someone’s big day can be, but 2021 taught me otherwise! I had the honor of photographing 2 friends weddings as well as assisting for another! After making this discovery, I decided I want to dip my toes into the wedding industry this year by assisting other photographers at 10 weddings this year!


SAVE 3 MONTHS OF EXPENSES

This is the goal that kind of falls into both categories of personal and business. This is largely a personal goal so we have an emergency fund should we need it, however, I’m including it in the business category as well because this will help me go full time in my business! Before leaving my “day job” and going full time in my business I want to make sure we’re protected financially just in case anything happens.


MAKE MY RELATIONSHIP MORE OF A PRIORITY

There are 2 parts to this goal, going on weekly date nights and quarterly vacations. After taking the Love Languages test last year we discovered that both of our love language is quality time (contrary to what we initially thought lol.) This year I’m going to spend a lot of time focusing on growing my business, and I don’t want my relationship to … Planning a date night each week whether we go out or stay home, and going on a vacation each quarter will make sure we’re still focusing on each other and getting that quality time!


READ 24 BOOKS

Growing up I was a huge reader, and in my adult life I just haven’t made the time to do some of the things I enjoy. I’ve set out with a goal to read 12 fiction books and 12 non-fiction books throughout the year to help fulfill my inner child! I’ve laid out the non-fiction books I plan on reading and have a large personal library or fiction books to choose from, I’m so excited to read more this year!


MONTHLY GET-TOGETHERS WITH MY SISTER

Originally, this was a goal we had set for last year, however, things didn’t go according to plan for either of us last year! We’ve decided to actually get together and bake one a month this year now that things have somewhat normalized for us. Baking is something I absolutely love, but am not very good at, so learning to bake with my sister will be a blast!


ORGANIZE OUR HOME

Lastly, we are aiming to make our house a home this year. We’ve lived here for just over 2 years and haven’t done much to truly organize our things or decorate! A lot of our time has been spent elsewhere, and we haven’t made this a priority previously. This year we’re determined to find a home for all of our things and decorate so that our home better matches our design style!


I hope you enjoyed getting a peek into my goals for this year! I plan on posting my goal progress on my Instagram every once in a while so follow me @jhphotography_ut if you want to see updates!


If you’d like me to capture any of your memories, I’d love for you to reach out to me HERE!


0 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page