top of page
Writer's pictureJessica Allen

What's a "Mini Session" and What Makes it so Different?

Updated: Dec 2, 2023


I was talking to my significant other the other day about some of my plans for my business and he asked me what the difference is between a "mini session" and "regular session." This got me thinking about all of the ways a mini session differs from a full/regular session. Obviously I can't speak for all photographers and how they handle their mini sessions, but I'd figure I'd make a post talking about the differences in my sessions in case you were wondering the same thing!


Length


One of the biggest differences between a regular session and a mini session is the length. A regular session is anywhere from 30-60 minutes (if not longer!) where a mini session will only be 10-20 minutes long. These sessions are especially great for those that don't have time for a full session!


Number of Photos


The longer the session the more photos that will be included with your package (obviously, right? lol) Because this is a shorter session overall, your final gallery will have a smaller number of images comparatively, but that will be reflected in the cost of the session!





Limited, Themed Sessions


Photographers will typically design their mini sessions around a theme or season (i.e. Christmas, Halloween, spring, or fall.) Because of this, there's only so many spots available! As photographers we want to make sure we're providing a similar experience to our full sessions, with the added benefit for you of us doing all of the planning.


Perfect for Seasonal Photos


If you're someone like me who loves having photos to look back on from all seasons of life, mini sessions are a great way to ensure you have those photos. You can get the perfect Easter and fall photos for your social media while reserving your full sessions for your yearly family photos!





Great Way to Test Out a Photographer


It's hard to know just from social media if you and a photographer are going to be a good fit. A full session is an investment in not only your time and money, both of which no one likes wasting! By booking a mini session you can get a feel for a photographers process, get to know them better, and get a taste of what a session would be like with them. I know for me personally, I strive to make my mini sessions a miniature version of my full sessions so you get the same experience no matter the type of session you book.



I hope this helped answer any questions you might have on what a mini session might be or how it differs from a full session! Keep an eye on my homepage and social media to see what mini sessions I will be offering next!




2 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page