top of page
Writer's pictureJessica Allen

What To Do the Day of Your Photo Shoot

Updated: Oct 24, 2023

When I had my first session personally I remember being a bit unsure what I should do the day of my session. It’s not anything complicated, but I’m a huge over-planner and wanted to make sure I didn’t miss anything. Because of this, I figured it would be helpful to make a blog post around what to do the day of your session! Obviously, depending on when your session is will depend on how much time you have beforehand, but here’s a couple of tips on things you can do to help make the experience less stressful overall. Make sure you read to the end to get my biggest tip on what to do on the day of your photo session!



Prep Everything the Night Before

This is especially important if you have a session in the morning. Having your outfits laid out completely - from undergarments to tops to shoes - as well as any props you may want to bring to your session will help things go smoother before your session. You’re able to make sure everything you need is washed and ready to go! This will help eliminate any possible stress around what to wear to your session the day of.


Eat and Drink Something!

Keep your body happy! Photoshoots are a ton of fun but can be exhausting as well. Eat something that makes you and your body feel good and drink plenty of water the day of your session. If you feel happy and comfortable (rather than hangry lol) that will shine through in your photos!



Plan to Arrive 5-10 Minutes Early

Arriving 5-10 minutes early should allow you plenty of time to find a place to park, find your photographer, and get the kids settled if they’re joining you for the session. You can give the kids a couple of minutes to run around and get the wiggles out and to prep them for the session. Most photographers will not give you extra time if you’re late for your session to help make sure they’re able to stay on schedule; especially if they have a session booked after yours.


Have a Relaxing Day

My biggest piece of advice is to try your best to have a relaxing day before your session! No matter how much you try to have a good time at the session or how good of a photographer you hire, the good parts of your session will often be overshadowed by the bad parts of the day. Some of the ways you can do this are by having everything ready the night before, try not to schedule any appointments the day of, and ultimately, do something you enjoy the day of your session!



I hope this was helpful for you! Should I write a post on what to do leading up to the day of your session? Let me know in the comments below!


If you’d like for me to capture any of your memories, I’d love for you to contact me HERE!




11 views0 comments

Comentarii


bottom of page